Stayers Hurdle Tips and Betting

Stayers Hurdle Preview

3 miles and 12 hurdles face the runners in the Stayers Hurdle, formerly known as the World Hurdle. This race is usually run at a very decent pace meaning stamina will be severely tested. This is a specialists' race which requires a unique type of horse to win.

Since 2002, Baracouda and Inglis Drever have retained their crown the following season and the magnificent Big Bucks won four on the bounce between 2009 and 2012 so give plenty of respect to returning previous winners of the Stayers Hurdle.

Stayers Hurdle Last Ten Winners

Table below shows the last ten winners of the race, their age at the time of winning, trainer, jockey and odds (starting price).

2017Nichols Canyon7yoW MullinsR Walsh10/1
2016Thistlecrack8yoC TizzardT ScudamoreEvsF
2015Cole Harden6yoW GreatrexG Sheehan14/1
2014More Of That6yoJJ ONeillB Geraghty15/2
2013Solwhit8yoC ByrnesP Carberry17/2
2012Big Bucks9yoP NichollsR Walsh5/6F
2011Big Bucks8yoP NichollsR Walsh10/11F
2010Big Bucks7yoP NichollsR Walsh5/6F
2009Big Bucks6yoP NichollsR Walsh4/11F
2008Inglis Drever9yoJH JohnsonD ORegan11/8F

Stayers Hurdle Trends

16 / 16Were sent off no bigger than 14/1
16 / 16Was sent off no bigger than 9/2 last time out
16 / 16Had run 1-4 times that season
16 / 16Made its debut in either England or France
16 / 16Had previously won on the going
16 / 16Had previously won either a Grade 1 or Grade 2
16 / 16Was aged between 6yo & 9yo
15 / 16Had a career strike rate of at least 42%
15 / 16Ran in a field of 4-10 runners last time out
14 / 14Of those who held an Official Rating it was 154+

Stayers Hurdle Trends Analysis

No horse had won the Stayers Hurdle three years in a row before Big Bucks smashed that record in 2011 but Paul Nicholls' wonder horse defied the stats men yet again when taking the Stayers Hurdle for the fourth consecutive year in 2012.

Strong trends include a fairly light campaign with the last 16 winners having raced no more than four times that season, all had previously won in Grade 1 or 2 company and were aged between 6 and 9 years old.

Shocks are rare in this race with Anzum's 40/1 victory in 1999 something of a one off in recent years so its probably best to focus on the principles in the betting market.

Stayers Hurdle Trainer Statistics

TrainerRunnersWinsPlaces (Inc Wins)Win LSPEach Way LSP
Paul Nicholls1747-4.43-1.25
W P Mullins1713-6.00-8.06
Colin Tizzard311-1.00-1.40
Warren Greatrex31112.006.40
Jonjo ONeill3115.502.50
C Byrnes1118.505.10
Nicky Henderson1202-12.00-7.37
Alan King802-8.00-4.10
Nick Williams500-5.00-5.00
David Pipe 5 0 1 -5.00 -4.15

Most of the championship races at the Festival over the last ten years have been dominated in terms of number of runners by Messrs Nicholls, Mullins and Henderson. The Stayers Hurdle appears to be no different with the big three responsible for 46 runners between them in that time.

Paul Nicholls has been the dominant force here thanks to the legendary Big Bucks who won the (then called) World Hurdle every year between 2009 and 2012.

Willie Mullins picked up his maiden Stayers Hurdle win with Nichols Canyon in 2017 but Nicky Henderson has had disappointing returns in recent years in this race with no winner from 12 runners and just hitting the frame on two occasions.

Is the Stayers Hurdle a race to avoid for Nicky Henderson fans?

OLBG Forum Tips on the Stayers Hurdle

OLBG member 'Pompey Jim' fancies the chances of Sam Spinner:

"Improving hurdler won five from seven, won his last two galloping his rivals into submission at Haydock in a Grade 3 handicap hurdle by 17 lengths and was then pitched into Grade 1 company at Ascot, again making all and drawing away to win. Would be a lot shorter if from one of the dominant yards, excellent value."

See the More tips and information on the Stayers Hurdle here via the OLBG forum.

The next race on Day 3 is the Brown Advisory Plate Check out the tips and race preview here.