Grand Annual Chase Tips and Betting

Grand Annual Chase Preview

A handicap chase over 2m 110 yards which was moved to become the last race of the Festival from 2010.

Grand Annual Chase Last Ten Winners

Table below shows the last ten winners of the race, their age and weight at the time of winning, trainer, jockey and odds (starting price).
2017Rock The World9-11-5J HarringtonR Power10/1
2016Solar Impulse6-11-0P NichollsS Twiston Davies12/1
2015Next Sensation8-11-2M ScudamoreT Scudamore16/1
2014Savello8-11-5AJ MartinD Russell16/1
2013Alderwood9-10-11T MullinsAP McCoy3/1F
2012Bellvano8-10-2N HendersonP Carberry20/1
2011Oiseau De Nuit9-10-13C TizzardS Clements40/1
2010Pigeon Island7-10-1N Twiston-DaviesP Brennan16/1
2009Oh Crick6-10-0A KingW Hutchinson7/1
2008Tiger Cry10-10-6A MooreD Russell15/2

Grand Annual Chase Trends

16 / 16Had previous run over a maximum of 22f (2m6f)
16 / 16Were foaled between March & July
16 / 16Had recorded 3-8 career wins
16 / 16Had made 1-7 starts that season
15 / 16Had previously made 4-12 starts over fences
15 / 16Had previously ran in at least a Grade 2
15 / 16Ran over between 15.5f & 17.5f last time out
15 / 16Were aged no older than 9yo
15 / 16Did not have a claimer in the saddle (1-57 those who did)

Grand Annual Chase Trends Analysis

Similarly to most of the other handicaps at the Festival, we would be looking for a low weighted runner towards the head of the market. Worth noting though that the last four winners have carried 11-00 or more compared to the previous fourteen winners who carried 10-13 or less.

Novices have a good record in this race - four recent winners of this race, Alderwood, Bellvano, Oh Crick and Pigeon Island, were all in their novice season. However, as the class of the field increases this may make it harder for novices.

As stated often on this site, previous Festival form is a big plus point with nine of the last eleven winners having run at the Festival before at least once.

Grand Annual Chase Trainer Statistics

Below is a table of how some of the other top trainers have fared in the last ten years:

TrainerRunnersWinsPlaces (Inc Wins)Win LSPEach Way LSP
Nicky Henderson2618-5.001.76
Paul Nicholls151214.005.25
Alan King1012-2.00-2.12
Colin Tizzard101231.0020.63
Nigel Twiston-Davies9128.006.63
A L T Moore5133.503.50
Mrs John Harrington3128.005.31
Michael Scudamore31214.009.38
A J Martin21115.009.00
Thomas Mullins1113.001.88
Since the race was named after his father in 2005, Nicky Henderson has had two winners at 20/1 and placed horses at 9/1, 16/1, 10/1, 3/1, 10/1, 10/1, 9/1, 33/1 and 12/1.

This will always be a race that the Henderson stable will focus on and their runners will continue to require close attention when making your bets but just be aware that Henderson's desire to win this race is well documented and there is a chance his horses have become increasingly overbet.

Paul Nicholls has won this race three times with St Pirran (2004), Andreas (2007) and Solar Impulse (2016).

The Grand Annual does not seem to be high on Willie Mullins Cheltenham hit list. Mullins has had just four runners in the race in the last twenty years and has yet to finish closer than fifth.

Grand Annual Chase Tips from The OLBG Forum

OLBG member ”Billy121only” likes Top Gamble:

" Top Gamble would need to run to at least 156 here to have a proper chance of winning and the first question is, can he achieve that? Well, between January 2016 and March 2017; he achieved a rating of 164 on no less than 6 out of 7 occasions; 4 of them coming here at Cheltenham and over distances from a bare 2-miles to 2m 5f. It is true that dropped back into handicap company at Warwick last time he disappointed; although a 3 lb drop, a little break, Davy Russell in the saddle and first-time cheek pieces are a powerful set of weights to offset that."

See the latest news on the Grand Annual Chase here via the OLBG forum.