Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Tips and Betting

Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Preview

Better known as simply the Kim Muir! This race is for amateur jockeys only and is run over 3m 2f on the new course.
15/15held an OR of 124-142 (Since 2010 134-142)
15/15ran in at least a Cl3 last time out
15/15had previously run over 3m+ and won over 2m4f+
15/15were foaled between January & April (0-97 those later in the year)
15/15had made 1-7 starts in the past year with no more than 2 wins
14/15had recorded 1-7 career wins
11/15ridden by amateurs who no longer claim

OLBG blogger Micko70 has written a blog on this race. Check out his his trends based blog here.

Kim Muir Trends Analysis

This race tends to go to a handicap chaser who has learnt enough to keep his amateur pilot out of trouble but hasn't got to the point where his handicap mark has become overexposed.

None of the last ten winners had more than nineteen races over fences.

Kim Muir Last Ten Winners

The table below shows the last ten winners of the race, their age and weight at the time of winning, trainer, jockey and odds (starting price).

2017Domesday Book7-11-4S EdmundsMiss G Andews40/1
2016Cause Of Causes8-11-9G ElliottMr JJ Codd9/2
2015The Package12-11-4D PipeMr JJ Codd9/1
2014Spring Heeled7-11-8J CullotyMr R McNamara12/1
2013Same Difference7-11-0N Twiston-DaviesMr R Hatch16/1
2012Sunnyhillboy9-11-11JJ ONeillMr A Berry13/2F
2011Junior8-11-6D PipeMr JJ Codd10/3F
2010Ballabriggs9-11-12D McCain JnrMr R Harding9/1
2009Character Building9-11-12J QuinnMr J Codd16/1
2008High Chimes9-10-10E WilliamsMr J Tudor14/1

Kim Muir Trainer Statistics

The table below outlines some of the top trainers record in the Kim Muir over the last ten years

TrainerNumber of runnersWinsOther Placed HorsesWin LSPEach Way LSP
Kim Muir Top Trainers
D Pipe2622-11.67-10.30
JJ ONeill1912-11.50-9.56
N Twiston Davies12105.00-1.00
D McCain11217.502.50
P Nicholls900-9.00-9.00
V Williams902-9.00-4.25
N Henderson701-7.00-4.50
P Hobbs701-7.00-5.00
AJ Martin602-6.000.00
C Longsdon600-6.00-6.00
E Williams51010.004.75
W Mullins502-5.00-1.88
G Elliott4131.506.63
A King400-4.00-4.00

Trainers that have a good record in this race are Nicky Henderson (three winners since 1990), Donald McCain (wins in 2007 and 2010) and David Pipe, who won this race in 2015, had first and second in this race in 2011 and second place in 2010.

Give runners from the Gordon Elliott very close inspection as Elliott has had four runners in this race in the last ten years with one win and the other three all being placed!

For more reading on Kim Muir trends why not check out this trends blog on the race from 2016 from OLBG member Micko70. We will be adding a blog on this race for 2017 as soon as one becomes available.

Kim Muir Preview

The Kim Muir has been a stepping stone to the Grand National in the past with 2010 winner Ballabriggs going on to Aintree glory and the 2012 winner Sunnyhillboy losing out in the National by a whisker.

Ireland had not won this race since 1983 until 2014 but they have now won two of the last three renewals so perhaps the tide is changing?

See tips on the Kim Muir here via the OLBG forum.

After this race we can look forward to another fantastic days racing on day four. For our preview of all the races head to Cheltenham tips day four