Champion Bumper Tips and Betting

Selection Bookie Odds

Dorrells Pierji


Invincible Cave




Carefully Selected


Musical Slave


Champion Bumper Preview

The biggest national hunt flat race of the year where punters flock to back the representatives of eight-time winner Willie Mullins.

Champion Bumper Trends

15/15were foaled between January & May
15/15had won within their last 3 starts
15/15had ran that season & won (0-45 those who hadn't)
15/15had a 50%+ strike rate that season (0-87 those below)
15/15were sent off no bigger than 6/1 last time out
14/15finished in the first 3 on debut (2005 was 13th)
14/15won last time out (Only exception in 2003 when 2nd)

Champion Bumper Analysis

Irish trainers have traditionally dominated this race since its inception in 1992 but four of the last seven runnings have been won by British trainers.

Only seven British trainers have managed to win this race in its twenty-four year history.

Fresh horses have started to dominate this race of late. Nie of the last ten winners had been off the track for at least 32 days but even more significantly seven of the last eight winners had been off for over 50 days.

OLBG blogger Robmull has narrowed the field down in his analysis of the main trends. Robmull's blog on the Bumper's trends can be found here.

Champion Bumper Last Ten Winners

Table below shows the last ten winners of the race, their age at the time of winning, trainer, jockey and odds (starting price).

2017Fayonagh6yoG ElliottMr JJ Codd11/2
2016Ballyandy5yoN Twiston-DaviesS Twiston-Davies5/1
2015Moon Racer6yoD PipeT Scudamore9/2F
2014Silver Concorde6yoD WeldR McNamara16/1
2013Briar Hill5yoW MullinsR Walsh25/1
2012Champagne Fever5yoW MullinsMr P Mullins16/1
2011Cheltenian5yoP HobbsR Johnson14/1
2010Cue Card4yoC TizzardJ Tizzard40/1
2009Dunguib6yoP FentonMr B OConnell9/2
2008Cousin Vinny5yoW MullinsMr P Mullins12/1

Champion Bumper Top Trainers
TrainerRunnersWinsOther PlacesWin LSPEach Way LSP
WP Mullins413415.001.45
D Pipe1010-4.50-6.30
P Hobbs9116.001.80
D Weld8119.003.35
N Twiston Davies6100.00-2.00
C Tizzard51036.0020.00
N Henderson500-5.00-5.00
P Nicholls501-5.00-3.70
Mrs J Harrington3103.501.30

Champion Bumper Preview

Willie Mullins has won this race an amazing eight times, including three times in the last ten years.

Nicky Henderson has made no secret of the fact that he believes the Champion Bumper may not help the long term career of a horse and this seems to suggest that if Henderson does enter one for the Bumper it may well be best avoided.

Paul Nicholls has a similarly disappointing return from his runners in this race but the Champion Trainer's Al Ferof would have been an easy winner in 2010 had he not bumped into Cue Card.

Champion Bumper OLBG Forum Tips

OLBG member daddy cool likes the chances of Western Ryder in the Bumper:

The most important factor for me is that it has shown form in two listed bumpers. Winning at Ascot and second at Newbury. During these two listed events it was able to be held up and then showed not only could it stay but also had a turn of foot required at this level. In the Newbury bumper it had to concede 21 pounds to a decent yardstick in Daphne Du Clos and it was only beaten by 3 lengths. It has winning form on Good and Good/Soft, hopefully will find these ideal conditions next Wednesday.>Western Ryder has strong credentials to land the bumper.

More news on the Champion Bumper can be found here via the OLBG forum.

The Bumper brings the second day of the Festival to a close but why not start studying for tomorrow? Check out the tips and race preview for that race here.